So…It’s Been More Than a Month

Long time no see, folks. For those of you who are still following me (I’m sure there’s at least one of you) I apologize for the lack of content. August was…hectic, to say the least, and as a result, I more or less suffered a complete and utter creative drain. Truth be told, I’m still recovering from that. Ah, but you’re not interested in hearing excuses, are you? I’ll wager you all want to know what’s going on with Double Crit now- namely, whether or not I’m actually going to start posting readable content again any time on the near future.

The short answer is yes. Definitely, I promise. At least, until I get hit with another bout of insomnia and my sleep schedule borks itself yet again. That’s been known to happen, I’m afraid. It’s rather irritating. Anyway, here’s an idea of what I’ve got in store for all you fine folks this month:

  • Guest Content: I’ve a few friends who might be interested in posting regular content on Double Crit. As a result, this month, you’re probably going to be seeing a few more posts about gender roles in popular culture and a bit of insight into how the medium of music functions as a part of gaming media. Who knows? Maybe you’ll see another author posting regular content here.
  • Indie Spotlights:  At least once a week, I’ll share some details on an independent project that’s caught my eye.
  • League of Legends Podcast/Posts: I’m a bit iffy on this one, since I’ve never claimed to be a brilliant League player, but my roommate’s looking to go pro. If he’s on board, you might well be seeing a weekly (or bi-weekly) podcast or series analyzing the pros and cons of a new champion, or the effectiveness of a particular build.
  • Stockholders in the Development Space: I’ve long maintained that a lot of stockholders (particularly those of EA, evidently) don’t really know how the games industry actually works. I’m going to put my money where my mouth is (so to speak) and take a closer look at just how the relationship between developers, publishers, and stockholders actually functions. With any luck, we’re all going to learn something.
  • D&D and Game Design: It’s been done before, I’m sure: insights on how running a D&D game helps prepare a person for a career in game development.
  • Patent Trolling and Video Games: I’ll examine one of the most vile creatures to ever blight the face of the earth, and how its toxic presence impacts gaming.
  • Magic The Gathering Set Analyses: This one will be going to a friend of mine, assuming he’s interested. Essentially, he’ll be talking about the pros and cons of each new set that releases, and what sorts of decks he feels will be most viable in the format.
  • Something about Minecraft: I could always profile an awesome build, or redstone tutorials, or…something. I figure with how much of my free time the game consumes, I might as well write a few pieces on it, right?

Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for you guys at the moment. Truth be told, I’m sort of just frantically hurling ideas at the wall and hoping a few of them stick.

Leave a Reply

