Gears of War 3

This is his happy face.

After much deliberation, I finally caved, walked ten minutes over to the midnight release of Gears 3 at Future Shop, and left with my very own shiny new copy of the game. I figure I’ll give the series its due- in hindsight, maybe the second game wasn’t as terrible as I remember it. I mean, the narrative of the single player campaign was reasonably well done (for a shooter), and Horde Mode was a blast…so much so that it was the inspiration for a similar gametype in Halo ODST and Halo Reach. In hindsight, I don’t entirely recall what it was that turned me off of Gears of War 2.

Maybe it was something to do with the mechanics, and how they related to multiplayer. Somehow, being able to win simply by holding down the B button doesn’t really sit well with me. Plus, there’s the matter of the shotgun- you might as well have been firing giant balls of cotton candy at your opponent, for all the good it did.Weapon balance was the name of the game, and that was an area where Gears 2 fell woefully short in multiplayer- at least, for me.

Yeah, that was probably it. The fact that I’d have just about as much luck winning a match by bashing my face into the controller as I would actually playing the game was something of an issue for me.

Of course, it’s equally possible that I simply got tired of the game and moved on to better things. I guess gritty, grimdark shooters simply don’t hold as much appeal to me as they used to.

Unless they involve zombies. or orks. Or demons. What? Cannon fodder’s damn fun to gun down.

...I'd still rather fight Marcus.

All I can say is that it’ll be tough; going back to the gruff, angry Marcus Fenix after experiencing the stoic, noble Captain Titus. Somehow, the latter speaks to me a touch more than the former.

Maybe I’m just too devoted to the Imperium of Man. At the end of the day, they’re really just two sides of the same coin, aren’t they? Gruff, angry, testosterone fueled super soldier versus reserved, intelligent, slightly-less-angry super soldier. Like the difference between a big mac and a quarter pounder. Or something like that.

Whatever. They’re all the bastard offspring of The Emperor and Doom Guy, at the end of the day.

Image Credits: Ikogamer

Leave a Reply

